Common Sense

This is another of those concepts I will use again and again so I will make an aside I can link to.

When I say “common sense” I don’t generally mean “good sense” even though this is the Oxford meaning of the term.

I mean instead, the sense that is taken-for-granted and held in common. A lot of writers in education use it this way, but I think it all goes back to Antonio Gramsci.

To make it very easy to understand here is an example. If “everyone” knows something then it becomes common sense. It used to be common sense that the earth was flat.

so common sense is not always true or helpful as a way of looking at things. But to believe anything else, to read in any other way goes against the grain. Which brings me back to this weeks reading…

One thought on “Common Sense

  1. Pingback: Interviewing Mark 4:26-34 and some of his friends | shecallsme

Leave a Reply

